MMFF Committee hosts appreciation dinner; officially launches MMFF 2019

Last February 15, 2019, Friday, the MMFF (Metro Manila Film Festival) Committee held its annual Appreciation Night at the Azucena Hall of the Sampaguita Gardens Events Place in Quezon City.

It was attended by some of the winners of the MMFF 2018, as well as by officials of the MMDA (Metro Manila Development Authority) led by MMDA and MMFF Chairman Danilo Lim. The event also served as the official launch of the MMFF 2019, which will coincide with the Philippine Cinema Centennial celebration and MMFF’s 45th year.

At the launch, the following details were announced regarding the MMFF 2019 enties:

-Deadline of submission of Letter of Intent: April 1, 2019 (Monday)

-Submission of Scripts and other required documents: May 31, 2019 (Friday)

-Announcement of the four official script entries: July 5, 2019 (Friday)

-Submission of finished film and other required documents including official trailers: 

    September 2, 2019 (Monday) – early bird

    September 21, 2019 (Friday)

Announcement of the four official entries: October 19, 2019 (Monday)

The main cast and creative team of Rainbow Sunset, MMFF 2018 Best Picture, were present to receive their plaques of appreciation and cash incentives and they include Ms. Gloria Romero, Eddie Garcia, Tony Mabesa, Max Collins, writer Eric Ramos, director Joel Lamangan, and producer Harlene Bautista of Heaven’s Best Productions.

Most movie companies though just sent representatives to receive their plaques, including Viva Films, whose film Aurora bagged the second best picture award. 

In his short speech during the event, MMDA Chairman Danny Lim, lauded the inclusion of Rainbow Sunset in two international film festivals namely the Stockholm and Houston International Film Festivals. He also encouraged both moviemakers  and moviegoers to support MMFF’s regional short films such as Aria, which was produced by Angeles City’s Holy Angel University.

Aria, directed by Carlo Catu, is about the struggles of the hukbalahaps during the second World War. It will be released commercially within the year and will have a premiere screening in Pampanga.

The luminaries, besides the Rainbow Sunset cast, present during the appreciation night included National Artist for Literature Bien Lumbera, Mowelfund president Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Film Development Council of the Philippines Chairman Liza Dino-Esguerra, producers Wilson Tieng and Jessie Ejercito, and director Mel Chionglo.

Welcome to! We use cookies to ensure your best experience when browsing this site. Continuing to use means you agree to our privacy policy and use of cookies.