Eddie Garcia and Nadine Lustre are Gawad Urian’s best actor/best actress this year!

PHOTOS: Melo Balingit & @nadine on IG

PHOTOS: Melo Balingit & @nadine on IG

Eddie Garcia and Nadine Lustre win big at the 42nd Gawad Urian Awards held at UP Cine Adarna, UP Film Institute, UP Diliman, QC yesterday, June 18.

Veteran actor Eddie, who’s still in a coma after an accident, received the Gawad Urian for Best Actor for the film ML, a martial law-themed film where the 90-year-old actor played the role of a delusional military officer torturing students.

ML writer-director Benedict Mique accepted the award for Manoy and read his acceptance speech that came from the Garcia family. 

The letter read: "While he has remained in a comatose state, isipin niyo siya iyong nakatayo dito at nakatanaw sa inyong lahat.”

Nadine Lustre, for her part, bagged the Best Actress Gawad Urian trophy for her role in the film Never Not Love You, produced by Viva Films and Reality Entertainment. 

In the film, the multimedia princess is Joanne, a girl who’s in a reckless and carefree relationship with Gio (James Reid) and later on struggled to choose between love and career.

She defeated a pretogious lineup of nominees that included, among others, Anne Curtis,—who was twice nominated for Sid and Aya: Not a Love Story and Buy Bust—Bela Padilla, Glaiza de Castro, Celeste Legaspi, Iyah Mina, Pokwang, Perla Bautista, Maribeth Fanglayan, and Ai-Ai delas Alas

It is Nadine’s third time to win the Best Actress award following her recognition from the Young Critics Circle and FAMAS earlier this year.

Director Joel Lamangan, who traded his his director’s hat  to actor’s, copped the best supporting trophy for School Service; while Cherie Gil, was emotional last night as she accepted her first ever Urian trophy as this year’s Best supporting actress for Citizen Jake.

Meanwhile, veteran actress Gloria Sevilla, hailed as the Queen of Bisayan Movies, was honored as this year’s lifetime achievement awardee.

Erik Matti’s Buybust, for its part, is Urian’s most-awarded film this year, bringing home four trophies. Best cinematography for Neil Bion; Best Production Design for Michael Español & Roma Regala; Best Music for Erwin Romulo & Malek Lopez and Best Picture.

Here are the complete list of winners for 42nd Gawad Urian:
Best Picture: BuyBust (directed by Erik Matti)
Best Director: Denise O’Hara (Mamang)
Best Screenplay: Rody Vera (Signal Rock)
Best Actor: Eddie Garcia (ML)
Best Actress: Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You)
Best Supporting Actor: Joel Lamangan (School Service)
Best Supporting Actress: Cherie Gil (Citizen Jake)
Best Production Design: Michael Español & Roma Regala (BuyBust )
Best Cinematography: Neil Bion (BuyBust )
Best Editing: May-i Guia Padilla (Tanabata’s Wife)
Best Music: Erwin Romulo & Malek Lopez (BuyBust )
Best Sound: Jonathan Hee, Steff Dereja & Miguel Hernandez (Never Tear Us Apart)
Best Documentary: Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang (Jewel Maranan)
Best Short Film: Tembong/Connecting (Shaira Advincula)
Natatanging Gawad Urian: Gloria Sevilla



Ms. Gloria Sevilla, pararangalan sa 42nd Gawad Urian bukas

FAMAS win ni Nadine, na-predict ni James

Anne Curtis honored as first female recipient of FPJ Memorial Award

Welcome to pikapika.ph! We use cookies to ensure your best experience when browsing this site. Continuing to use pikapika.ph means you agree to our privacy policy and use of cookies.